News Release





Nov. 21, 2019 Release 19-11-21

Headquarters Air Force Global Strike Command Office of Public Affairs Barksdale AFB, La. 71110-2279 (318) 456-1305 After hours, call (318) 210-5683

AFGSC announces Global Strike Challenge winners Command's best of best recognized after premier competition

BARKSDALE AIR FORCE BASE, La. – Global Strike Challenge 2019 concluded with Air Force Global Strike Command announcing the winners at a scoreposting event here, Nov. 20.

Global Strike Challenge is the world's premier bomber, intercontinental ballistic missile, helicopter operations, maintenance and security forces competition.

The 2nd Bomb Wing at Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana, won the Fairchild Trophy for the best bomb wing for the second time in a row, while the 341st Missile Wing at Malmstrom AFB, Montana, won the Blanchard Trophy for the best ICBM wing for the second time in a row.

Other top honors included the Bourland Trophy for the best helicopter squadron, awarded to the 54th Helicopter Squadron, Minot AFB, North Dakota, the Charlie Fire Team Trophy for best security forces, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, and the Ellis Giant Sword Trophy for the best bomber maintenance, 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota.

Malmstrom AFB won the Spirit Bell Trophy for the best team spirit.

For the first time, the Doolittle Trophy for innovation excellence, formerly known as the Innovation Trophy, was presented to the 341st Missile Wing at Malmstrom AFB, Montana. This trophy recognizes the innovation efforts of the base and their dedication to staying competitive in the 21st century.

The community of Shreveport and Bossier presented the Barksdale Trophy to Minot, North Dakota which surrounds Minot AFB. The Barksdale Trophy is presented to the community that best supports an Air Force Global Strike Command wing.

This year's GSC focused on great power competition and AFGSC Commander Gen. Tim Ray's "fight the base" initiative from the command's 2020 strategic plan. Fight the base focuses on reinvigorating and revising wing exercise programs to strengthen preparedness for potential attacks and threats.

Participants in the 2019 Global Strike Challenge included AFGSC's nine wings plus units from Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard.

| Category | Winner |
|---|--|
| Fairchild Trophy for Best Bomb Wing | 2nd Bomb Wing, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana |
| Blanchard Trophy for Best ICBM Wing | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Klotz (Best ICBM and Helicopter Operations) | 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| Security Forces | Jour Missie Wing, F.E. Warten AFD, Wyonning |
| Charlie Fire Team Trophy | 241 at Missila Wine Malmatus m AED Montana |
| 1 , | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Best Security Forces Mental and Physical (MAP) Challenge Trophy. | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Best Security Forces Marksmanship Trophy | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Best Security Forces Tactics Trophy | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Best M4 Shooter | TSgt Scott Wildenhain, 2nd Security Forces Squadron, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana |
| Best M9 Shooter | SSgt James Hillman, 153 CACS, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| Best M24 Shooter | SSgt Jordan Valentine, 7th Security Forces Squadron, Dyess, AFB, Texas |
| Best M320 Shooter | SSgt Blake Barley, 5th Security Forces Squadron, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| ICBM Trophies | , |
| Operations | |
| Linhard Trophy (Best ICBM Ops Cew) | 321st Missile Squadron, 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| Neary (best EWO Crew) | 321st Missile Squadron, 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| McMahon (Best Weapons System Crew) | 12th Missile Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Maintenance | |
| Blackburn | 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best ICBM Missile Handling Team | 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best ICBM Electro-Mechanical Team | 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| Best ICBM Missile Communications Team | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Best Missile Wing Nuclear Weapons MUNS team | 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best ICBM Facilities Maintenance Section Team | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Helicopter Trophies | 0, |
| Bourland (Best Helicopter Squadron) | 54th Helicopter Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best Aerial Interdiction | 54th Helicopter Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best Convoy Response | 54th Helicopter Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |

| Best Security Response | 40th Helicopter Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
|---|--|
| Best Fires Observer | SrA Jacob Weaver, 90th SSPTS, 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming |
| Bomber Trophies | |
| Operations | |
| LeMay (Best Bomb Squadron) | 343rd Bomb Squadron, 307th Bomb Wing, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana |
| Mitchell (Best Bomb) | 343rd Bomb Squadron, 307th Bomb Wing, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana |
| Linebacker (B-52 Squadron) | 343rd Bomb Squadron, 307th Bomb Wing, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana |
| Eaker (Best B-1 Squadron) | 34th Bomb Squadron, 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota |
| Tibbets (Best B-2 Squadron) | 110th Bomb Squadron, 131st Bomb Wing, Whiteman AFB, Missouri |
| Bartsch (Best Electronic Countermeasures) | 9th Bomb Squadron, 7th Bomb Wing, Dyess AFB, Texas |
| Maintenance | |
| Ellis Giant Sword (Best Bomber Maintenance) | 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota |
| Best Conventional Munitions Maintenance Team | 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota |
| Best Conventional Aircraft Crew Chief Team | 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota |
| Best Conventional Weapons Load Team | 7th Bomb Wing, Dyess AFB, Texas |
| Best Bomb Wing Nuclear Munitions Maintenance Team | 5th Bomb Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Best Nuclear Aircraft Crew Chief Team | 509th Bomb Wing, Whiteman AFB, Missorui |
| Best Nuclear Weapons Load Team | 509th Bomb Wing, Whiteman AFB, Missorui |
| Other | |
| Doolittle Trophy for Innovation Excellence | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |
| Barksdale Trophy (awarded to the best community support for an AFGSC base) | City of Minot, Minot AFB, North Dakota |
| Spirit Bell (awarded to the team who best represents Global Strike Challenge teamwork and esprit de corps) | 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana |